top of page

Dismantling oppression gets noticed: 10 Steps to help prevent and manage #Zoombombing


Crowd holding sign saying Stop Racism

This past winter, I hosted a webinar where trauma happened. The Association for Educational Communications Technology (AECT) Culture, Learning and Technology Division webinar, “Redefining impact and diversifying what scholarship means in a cross-cultural context,” was targeted by a group of cowardly racist and misogynistic perpetrators. They #Zoombombed the webinar and disrupted our information sharing for approximately five minutes. I have been hosting webinars focused on diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) for more than five years but that was the first time I experienced this type of abusive, verbal assault in my Zoom meeting room.


The attack started as my esteemed black colleague, began to speak. I mention that he is black because the attacks were racist, made up of racial epithets towards black people and women. I was horrified, shocked, and even paralyzed for a few seconds. I thought #zoombombing happened to others who teach undergraduate level, large enrollment courses. The reality is that they happen to everyone; from US government meetings, to Italian parliament meetings, to research scientist meetings focused on dismantling structural oppression, to undergraduate university course meetings. Luckily, another esteemed Tunisian colleague, Dr. Ahmed Lachheb, PhD, was able to help end the vicious racist and misogynistic verbal attack.


Moving forward, I have adopted the following protocol for secure Zoom meetings.


Before the Zoom meeting:

1. I create a Zoom meeting room for a certain topic/time for the event/webinar, and do not use my personal Zoom meeting room that has a stable URL.


2. If possible, I require registration for the webinar/event in advance where at least an interested attendee needs to put their full name, email address, and their institution so they get a personalized link to their email inbox that allows them to join the event/webinar. I would post a link to the registration form for open webinars publically. When I can’t create a registration link, I do post a link to the Zoom room.


3. I would approve registration of attendees that I can determine, with a high certain degree of confidence, that they are indeed valid registrations. If I can’t find any links to the name associated with a role or background that is aligned with the webinar goals, I do not approve the registration.


4. I share my secure Zoom meeting protocol with presenters and offer further support if any training is requested.


5. I ask the presenters to pause in case we get interrupted by any disruptive intruder and avoid hitting mute all because that will prolong the intrusion. Instead, I request their help to take screenshots of private messages with written attacks. I also request their help to look for the yellow highlight around the disruptive individual’s square, click on remove, approve a block, and then click report to Zoom. I let them know this will end the intrusion and collect evidence needed to work with authorities who would investigate the attackers.


6. I seek assistance from one or two other colleagues who aren’t presenting to help in case we get disrupted by an intruder.

During the Zoom meeting:

7. My co-hosts and I monitor the waiting room. Only attendees that have a clear full name under their account are admitted to the event/webinar.


8. I start the meeting and record it to the cloud. I keep the recording on at all times because it will help the authorities hold any potential attackers accountable at a later time.


9. I allow only panelists/main speakers to freely use their mic/share their screens (using co-hosts roles). Attendees can be unmuted/share screen if they use the raise hand button or are allowed to contribute when invited.


10. My co-hosts and I monitoring the event/webinar feel confident that several colleagues and I are ready to swiftly remove a Zoom bomber. However, If #1-#9 are done, I should not have to do #10.


Now you know too. I look forward to maintaining a safer place for my colleagues and myself to share and collaborate.


Stop racism photo taken July 2, 2020 by Ivan Radic.

 

We welcome guest bloggers. Please submit your proposed blog article here. Someone will contact you shortly about an opportunity to post your article.


Lisa A. Giacumo, PhD is an associate professor of Organizational Performance and Workplace

Learning at Boise State University. Her research and teaching interests include diversity, equity, and inclusion, design to support global and cross-cultural workplace learning needs, the use of technology for workplace learning and performance improvement, and the preparation of instructional designers. She has worked internationally as an instructional designer, trainer, and manager for businesses, universities, non-profits, and NGOs. Connect with her on LinkedIn here.


bottom of page